Home > Brain Food, Get it Together, Get Motivated, Personal Excellence - Blog, Sales University, Self Help > 5 Must Read Lessons on the Power of Consistency

5 Must Read Lessons on the Power of Consistency


5 Must Read Lessons on the Power of Consistency

Posted: 16 May 2010 10:00 PM PDT


I just finished jogging up the mountain near my home, and I must admit, I’m continually intrigued by the number of individuals who I see jogging up the mountain…who never change; they never look any different, although years have passed. 

Why don’t they change?

The most likely answer is consistency, everybody can jog, but everybody’s not willing to jog (and eat right) “everyday!”

The Truth Is

I’m not in shape because I jogged three hours today.  I’m in shape because I jog every single day.  When you do something daily, you take steps forward, without negating your progress with backward steps.

The Power of Consistency

With consistency, anything is possible!  I may not have the most popular motivational blog today, but what will happen in 10 years, 20 years from now (with consistency).  I’m in my 20’s (barely); I have lots of time to practice consistency.  What’s your story?  What could you accomplish, if you were consistent for the next 20 years?  I hope you answered, “Anything!”

Today I want to look at five motivational lessons on the power of consistency.  I hope you enjoy.

5 Lessons on the Power of Consistency:

1. Consistency Will Eventually Payoff

It takes twenty years to become an overnight success. – Eddie Cantor

The time is going to pass; it only makes sense to be consistent while it’s passing; this way, you will have something valuable to show for the passage of your time. 

Can you imagine what you could accomplish in the next 20 years with consistency?  A little everyday will eventually equal…success.

2. Keep Having “Successful Days”

Everyday is either a successful day, or a day of failure, and it is the successful days that get you what you want. – Wallace D. Wattles

This is one of my favorite quotes, it’s so telling, so clear.  It is the successful days that turn dreams into realities.  The key is to consistently have successful days. 

You should also know that you can’t be consistent doing something you don’t love.  Love what you do, do your best, and do it consistently, and in enough time you will succeed.

3. Consistency is a “Habit”

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit. – Aristotle

Habit will take you further than your desires.  Cultivate the habit of doing successful activities, and you will have a successful life.  Successful habits separate the successful from the unsuccessful, and it’s usually just a handful of habits over the course of many years that separates the victors from the victims.

4.  Make Your Course “Regular”

Look to make your course regular, that men may know beforehand what they may expect. – Francis Bacon

If your course is regular, not only will men know what to expect beforehand, but you will as well.  When your actions are consistent, your future is predictable. 

If you keep moving in the right direction, it’s just a matter of time before you get to your goal; that’s just plain common sense.

5. Persistence Requires Discipline

Persistence requires discipline. A person waiting for inspiration limits achievement to periods when conditions are desirable. – Dr. William G. Covington Jr.

Sometimes you have to push through the pain to get to the promise.  Sometimes you have to go through hell before you can get to heaven.  You won’t always feel inspired, but if you push through the pain, success will be yours.  Thank you for reading.

Please Read: A special thanks to everyone who has signed up for my weekly motivational e-mails!  This week I’m starting a series entitled 101 success tips.  Every week I will send out one success tip that I’m personally working on, and that you should be working on as well.

Also, I’ve updated my “About Mr. Self Development” page with a timeline of my life, so feel free to check that out as well.  Finally, I added a “re-tweet” counter to my articles, so if you’re on Twitter, please re-tweet any articles you like.

Regards,

Mr. Self Development

Thank you for reading mrselfdevelopment.com where every article expands your mind, increases your faith, and changes your life.

If you’ve enjoyed reading this article please subscribe to my “RSS Feed” or click here to get my articles e-mailed to you for free.  Also feel free to submit this page to your favorite social media site.

Leave a comment